Visit UCR Return to Campus website - Take the COVID Screening Check survey


Three Faculty Named as Fellows

Riverside, Ca –

Three ECE faculty members were named Fellows in recognition to their contributions and extraordinary achievements to advancing science.

Professor Albert Wang has been named Fellow of the National Academy for Inventors (NAI) for his incredible impact on the innovation sphere on a global scale. Professor Roger Lake and Professor Amit Roy-Chowdhury have been named IEEE Fellows in recognition of their technological contributions to society. Prof. Lake was recognized “for contributions to quantum mechanical electronic device modeling” and Prof. Roy-Chowdhury for “for contributions to video-based tracking and behavior analysis”.

Election as an NAI fellow is the highest professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on society.

IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting of this prestigious grade elevation. Each year, following a rigorous evaluation procedure, the IEEE Fellow Committee recommends a select group of recipients for elevation to IEEE Fellow. Less than 0.1% of voting members are selected annually for this member grade elevation. Review the sections on this page to learn about the history of the IEEE Fellow grade, the elevation process, and how the program evolved through the years to become the program it is today.

See more at